I Hate Running

Good evening Dear Reader,

Firstly, I’m grateful for:

  1. I found inspiration to write more poetry.
  2. I learned something new about myself.
  3. Andrew gave me a big hug today.

That being said, recently I met a very amazing woman who is old enough to be my mother with a body better than mine. She agreed to become my fitness coach to help me reach my goals. The first thing she asked was if I ran.

Anyone who knows me knows that running does not mix well with me. I am a certified couch potato and I don’t even run for the bus.

She laughed and kindly informed me, running would be apart of my regimen. I thought ‘why not’. There are plenty of things I’ve tried. Despite hating running with a burning passion I figured I’ve never really given it an honest chance.

So 3 weeks ago I started my running journey. My coach wants me to run a mile a day. Now that may sound easy but to a cute couch potato, it’s intense. Because I haven’t ran since high school I figured I’d have to build my way up to that.

Week one: I did three runs

Week two: I did four runs

Week three: I did 5 runs and I was able to run the whole mile without stopping.

This week I plan on going on 6 runs.

I noticed a few things about myself while running. It’s not as bad and soul sucking as I thought. I felt very proud of myself by finishing. As well, it’s getting easier as time goes on.

During one of my runs, I found myself wanting to give up because I felt myself being weighed down with negative thoughts. Things like “I’m all alone” or “I can’t do this” etc. I wanted to stop and return home.

Instead there was a little click in my head. I thought that I’m never really alone because I can count on myself. That thought alone made me keep pushing forward. It gave me a little speck of peace which, going forward through this week has been helpful so far. The thought that I’ll always have myself and as long as I love and support me, that’s all that matters.

Sadly we come to this world and leave this world alone. You have to know yourself better than anyone else. So it’s better to make amends with your demons, and love yourself fully because it is the most sacred relationship you will ever have.

Now I’m not saying running is making me love myself. However, had I not went on that run at that time on that day, perhaps that particular thought wouldn’t have crossed my mind.

In any case, I hope you have a great evening dear reader.

Warm Regards,

Shannon M.